I'm just beggining to delve into music theory.. some ?s

Discuss playing styles and techniques, or share your own here.
frostmourne
Newcomer

I've been playing for about 2 years. Up until about 6 months ago I didn't know a single scale and had no idea what it meant to be in key or even what a legato was.

I basically just looked up tabs and learned a bunch of songs to improve my chops and took peices from all of the songs to make up my own little riffs.

6 months ago I began to take lessons and I know a little theory and I'm a much better player now. I went from playing master of puppets over and over to making up my own solos over guitar riffs and stuff.

Right now I'm basically using pentactonic. I know a little bit of major but I'm not well versed in it. Now I understand like how I can solo with the scale over like a riff by staying in key. What I don't understand is how guitarists go up and down the fretboard while still sounding good and going out of the scale.

I'm sorry if I sound like an idiot I'm still a total novice to all of this.

Like how can they go out of this if the song was in G

3 5
3 4
3 4
3 4
3 5
3 5
guitarbonham

well those notes your playing in the pentonic scale are notes that are elsewhere on the fret board. for example an E minor pentonic (from high to low) is
0 3
0 3
0 2
0 2
0 2
0 3

so if you go up to the 12th fret its the same notes just an octave up. so its the same scale just an octave up if you play it
12 15
12 15
12 14
12 14
12 14
12 15

so basically eventually you memorize all of those notes all up and down the fret board and you can play those same notes in different octaves and positions. like for example if you play 12 on the low E string and play the 7th fret on the A string its the exact same note in a different position.
frostmourne
Newcomer

I see what you mean. But what about like here

e:---------3------------------------------------:
b:------------3---6-----------------------------: