Behringer V Amp Pro into Computer

The name says it all! Discuss Steve's studios, your studios and gear set-ups, amps and effects here. This is not for discussing guitars (Steve's or otherwise).
Post Reply
Dug
Newcomer
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 12:23 pm

I just got a V amp pro and also a new computer. What do I need to plug the vamp into the computer? Just a 1/4 to 1/8" adapter? I am not getting into the whole midi thing because I will get confused. Also once I have it plugged in can I use the Audacity program I downloaded to begin recording.
Lastly what are good FREE drum programs?
Thanks
cain777
Member
Member
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 12:18 pm

hey dude,
I used to have a Vamp pro. Its the rack mount one right?!(thinking) yeah that 's it. Well anyways I had some decent results with it. For me I bought a cable at my local radio shack that had a 1/4 on one end and an 1/8 on the other end. From there i just plugged it directly into my sound card. Sounds good but some of the cab models werent there for me.
Another thing that I tried was using a mic/instrument preamp. The one that used was the presonus TubePRE. I used the tube pre mainly to warm up the sound of the solid state vamp. With the tube pre you can swap different tubes for a desired tone. It has both 1/4 and XLR input and outputs so you can probably try using the XLR output from the vamp to the XLR input of the tube pre. The tube pre only cost about 100 bucks so its pretty affordable. But directly in from the vamp by itself should be sufficient.
cain777
Member
Member
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 12:18 pm

Oh sorry for the double post but I thought it would be convenient to give you the link to the Tube pre.

http://www.presonus.com/tubepre.html
Post Reply