legacy clip again! differnt tone!

The name says it all! Discuss Steve's studios, your studios and gear set-ups, amps and effects here. This is not for discussing guitars (Steve's or otherwise).
Post Reply
bkornaker1977
Member
Member
Posts: 346
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2003 12:22 pm

check it out, i tried to do a more of a JSX/satriani tone with this amp. the song is called " what if i had........"

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemus ... dID=465137

im trying to get the amp to sound NOT so steve vai'ish. tell me what you think.
User avatar
laficojr
Member
Member
Posts: 1244
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2004 5:03 am

Hey Dude, Just listened to your new song, Sounds great! As usual.. LOL
How Did you Record that cool Loop in the beggining? Samples?
I heard something about a software called Battery by Native Instruments, Have You heard about that? Its really expensive, but its worth the Money. Its a Drum Sampler but with high quality, and You can Use it with Sonar as a Plugin.
bkornaker1977
Member
Member
Posts: 346
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2003 12:22 pm

yeah, those are sampled loops. i took em from "Acid" software, and just uploaded it into Sonar. I thought it was a cool sound, instead of using the usuall " real" drum loops. this gave it a more techno/electronica feel.
User avatar
laficojr
Member
Member
Posts: 1244
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2004 5:03 am

bkornaker1977 wrote:yeah, those are sampled loops. i took em from "Acid" software, and just uploaded it into Sonar. I thought it was a cool sound, instead of using the usuall " real" drum loops. this gave it a more techno/electronica feel.


Those Loops cames with the Software?
I want to expend some money In some cool "loop software"
So, It might be an option. You Should check the software I told you , BATTERY by Native Instruments
User avatar
Jem-7vwh-agg
Member
Member
Posts: 217
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2005 2:30 am

bkornaker1977 wrote:check it out, i tried to do a more of a JSX/satriani tone with this amp. the song is called " what if i had........"

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemus ... dID=465137

im trying to get the amp to sound NOT so steve vai'ish. tell me what you think.

it sounds like vai trying to play a satriani song but fails :)
bkornaker1977
Member
Member
Posts: 346
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2003 12:22 pm

LOL! yup...........
*theanimal*05
Member
Member
Posts: 282
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 9:18 pm

great stuff you get an amazing tone. can i ask what volume your legacy was at too record.

sorry to through it off topic but i have gigantic garage and i can only put my legacy half stack on 2 max on the volume or i will impair my hearing no joke. is it really this loud! i hear people saying they have a small room with the legacy on 4!!!!!!! how is this possible without exploding!!!!!!!!

for instance vai wouldnt have his volume on over 1.5 in this video below. am i right in saying that.

http://www.vai.com/updates/vh-1_vids/vaiH-1.mov
tambokgt
Member
Member
Posts: 89
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 10:47 am

*theanimal*05 wrote:great stuff you get an amazing tone. can i ask what volume your legacy was at too record.

sorry to through it off topic but i have gigantic garage and i can only put my legacy half stack on 2 max on the volume or i will impair my hearing no joke. is it really this loud! i hear people saying they have a small room with the legacy on 4!!!!!!! how is this possible without exploding!!!!!!!!

for instance vai wouldnt have his volume on over 1.5 in this video below. am i right in saying that.

http://www.vai.com/updates/vh-1_vids/vaiH-1.mov
power attenuator.
*theanimal*05
Member
Member
Posts: 282
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 9:18 pm

which part of my post are u referering to. are u saying vai is using an attenator on the video.
RAR!
Member
Member
Posts: 527
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2004 11:25 pm

*theanimal*05 wrote: sorry to through it off topic but i have gigantic garage and i can only put my legacy half stack on 2 max on the volume or i will impair my hearing no joke. is it really this loud! i hear people saying they have a small room with the legacy on 4!!!!!!! how is this possible without exploding!!!!!!!!
That part, I think.

If you want to get your Legacy cranked but still have quiet volumes, you need a power attenuator, like a Weber Mass 150 or THD Hotplate.
bkornaker1977
Member
Member
Posts: 346
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2003 12:22 pm

yeah, i use a marshall power break attenuator. i have my amps volume at 5, but the attenuator set to minimum level.
Post Reply