Advanced phrasing and avoiding cliche(safe) licks...

Discuss playing styles and techniques, or share your own here.
McTastyfrets

Ok, this is sort of a 2 part thread:

1. Just wondering what everyone's thoughts are on developing advanced phrases, both from a compositional standpoint, and a live improvisational view. I've been playing for about 14 or 15 years, but I'm finding that I am kind of at a point where I need some direction and I'm on a plateau where it seems I am not advancing...

2. How does one avoid going back to stock licks that we know will work and are safe?....I need a way to not automatically play those licks.... It's getting to the point where I get frustrated, then I get bored and I get very disinterested in playing...Hit me with some fresh ideas.

Thanks...
PifleChien

Hey, you're probably a more advanced player than I am, but from what I have gathered so far, the answer is incredibly simple to state: just force yourself not to play cliché!

That would mean playing less, putting yourself in an uncomfortable physical or musical position... Playing the left hand over the neck and focusing more on the music than purely on developping an unorthodox question... Listening to the instruments, playing and playing *on* randomly constructed chords, singing rather than playing...

[unnecessary sarcasm ON]Now that's one problem Malmsteen never had![unnecessary sarcasm OFF]
Big Bad Bill

McTastyfrets wrote:Ok, this is sort of a 2 part thread: 2. How does one avoid going back to stock licks that we know will work and are safe?....I need a way to not automatically play those licks.... It's getting to the point where I get frustrated, then I get bored and I get very disinterested in playing...Hit me with some fresh ideas.